Kaushik's Blog

A Conversation I Had And What It Led To

This past year, I had a conversation. I had more than one over the course of the year, but that's not important right now.

I spoke with a friend I hadn't met since finishing high school nine years ago. We caught up on our current states in life, as people who once knew each other well tend to do. When our chat hit that inevitable lull, we both searched for a new topic of conversation, reaching to our mutual past for any ideas. He got there first and asked me, "Do you still write? You used to be pretty good at that."

Let's leave the second half of that ("used to be"?) aside for a moment.

Did I still write?

Nope. Not in a long while, I hadn't.

And why not?

A list of things - being too busy, not having anything interesting to say, prioritizing other things in life. All excuses, really.

And so, with 2023 winding down, no more excuses. Welcome to my blog.

I decided to get started today because of how monumental a year 2024 is slated to be. Elections in India and the US. The Olympic Games. The formal dissolution of the Republic of Nagorno-Karabakh. And the formal dissolution of the Rule of Threes in comedy.

We all need someone to put down their thoughts and help us make sense of these world-changing events. So, if you know anyone intelligent discussing these things, let me know. This post is actually a request for recommendations.

I'm not yet sure what this blog is going to be about. I suppose I'd have to start writing a few pieces in order to figure that out.

I recently read this from Naval Ravikant, which I'm going to use as a guiding light.

Become the best in the world at what you do. Keep redefining what you do until this is true.

With that, welcome to the best blog in the world written by me. Although maybe even that's not true.